A quartet of Leicester City players have been named in the England squad for the upcoming UEFA Under-21 European Championships.

Hamza Choudhury, James Maddison, Harvey Barnes and Demarai Gray are all in Aidy Boothroyd’s 23-man squad to travel to the tournament in Italy and San Marino this summer.

Many were shocked when James Maddison was omitted from Southgate’s recent England squad, although the senior boss feels that his decision is justified as he looks to gel a core group of young players together.

“We’ve taken so many players from the Under-21s early that we wanted the likes of Phil Foden, James Maddison, Mason Mount, Aaron Wan-Bissaka and Ryan Sessegnon, to have a tournament together,” Southgate said.

“It will be good for them to get that tournament experience again. We think, for them, that is the next stage of their development.”

Leicester City goalkeeper Daniel Iversen will also be competing at the tournament after he was recently named in the Denmark Under-21 squad.

Leave a Reply